Importance of Baptism and Your new life

So I want to apologize for the lack of posts, I finally got my internet set up in my new apartment, so now we can continue on salvation.

I wanted to briefly talk about the importance of being baptized. A lot of people I know who have accepted Christ haven’t been baptized with water. Now some say its not important, but I believe it to be. Here are a couple of reasons that it’s important to me.

1.It shows your desire to follow Christ’s example.

Jesus Christ got baptized himself! I imagine that if God got baptized while he lived among us as a human, it has to be a significant event. “At that time Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan.” Mark 1:9

 2. Christ Commanded it

“Jesus said, “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Song and of the Holy Spirit.” Matthew 28:19

3. It’s making a public announcement to your friends and yourself

Being baptized can be a wonderful event. It shows others your dedication to Christ and not only that but it allows loved ones to hold you accountable to your walk with Christ.

While some won’t get baptized, I believe we all should once we accept Jesus in our hearts. If you do decide to get baptized you should talk to your local church and call up some friends and family, enjoy the moment, you’ll never forget it. To me, I base my time of becoming a Christian off of my baptism, not the actual day I accepted Christ into my heart. It places a memory, which makes you feel more inclined to obey the word and to look back on the day your new life began which shows you how much you have changed (I find this interesting personally).

So now that I’ve talked about baptism. I think its time to talk about your assurance of salvation! If you have taken the leap recently than I hope you’ll find this section quite helpful. Here is a little back-story on the information I will be posting up. Whenever I received Christ my mother and I did a bible study, and I’m using this study for this section. I found it very helpful, because the fact that I had received eternal life just for believing in Christ was quite unbelievable.

As I mentioned in the first post regarding Salvation you, as a follower of Christ have had some truths bestowed upon you such as:

  1. Christ forgave all of your sins – When you trusted Christ for the forgiveness of your sins, all of your sins were forgiven- past, present and future.
  2. Christ made you a child of God
  3. Christ came into your life and will never leave you – Under no circumstances will God leave you, and you only need to receive Christ once.
  4. Christ gave you a new life – When you trusted Christ to be your savior and Lord, you began a new spiritual life. God will increasingly produce new qualities in you as you grow in your relationship with him.
  5. Christ gave you Eternal life

None of these truths can be earned, you receive them the moment you put your faith in Christ.

Your sins being forgiven, is not a license to sin. I’m not sure that any Christians do this, but it is not giving you permission. While you have been forgiven for your future sins, confession is still important to have a relationship with God. I look at it this way. God doesn’t come into the presence of sin + if we are clouded in sin from not confessing in prayer = we don’t have the presence of God. So while our sins have been forgiven, we must acknowledge them in confession. Remember in your walk as a Christian you want to learn more about God, love God and have that relationship!

Now I think it’s important to note that doubts will arise, especially when your first a Christian. Doubts haunt every Christian at some point. In fact I was talking to a young lady the other day that just got over her doubts. Whenever I find myself looking at theories of life, death and science I sometimes catch a wave of doubts as well, but I quickly recover by thinking on the scientific evidence I have found in my personal studies to renew my faith, then I pick up Gods word. Everyone has to find their own way to get rid of the doubts, but knowing they will come, is one of the best defenses you can have!

So Here’s your Homework

I want you to recognize the truths I have presented to you today and read the passages I have provided.

  1. I am Forgiven – Colossians 1:13,14; 2:13
  2. I am a child of God – John 1:12, Romans 8:15, I John 3:1
  3. I am indwelt by Christ – Revelation 3:20, Galatians 2:20
  4. I have new life – II Corinthians 5:17, Ephesians 2:4,5
  5. I have eternal life: I John 5:11-13, John 5:24; 10:27-29

The Next post in “Breaking the Chains” will be about what’s Next as a Christian. I hope you enjoyed this post and that it was somewhat insightful!

Don’t forget to subscribe by clicking the follow button to the right of this post, or you can follow me on twitter @logicinlife92

If you have a personal story about your salvation or coming to Christ because of this site please share! I’d love to hear what you have to say; you can email me at logicinlife92@gmail.com

Oh and Readers, share the moment you were baptized in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

